Dubai: Concord Ventures Palakkad Harvestors will bid to stop the Yogi Group Thrissur Dynamites juggernaut in the final of the Kerala Premier League at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Saturday.

Thrissur remain unbeaten throughout the month-long tournament so far. Speaking to Gulf News, Shiva Pagarani, the owner of the Thrissur team, said: “We are proud of the fact that we have remained unbeaten and reached the final. Ours is an excellent combination and all praise to Swapnil Patil, who has been in scintillating form, guiding our team to victories with unbeaten knocks.”

Patil cracked an unbeaten 62 off 49 balls to give Thrissur an exciting four-run win over Space CSS Alleppey Ripples in the semi-final.

Palakkad, whose only defeat in the tournament was to Phoenix Medicine Kollam Kernals by six wickets on November 11, regained their winning touch to also reach the final. In the first semi-final against Capital CMC Kochi, they scored an impressive 35-run victory.

P.G. Sundar, the coach of the Palakkad team, said: “We regrouped well and did our best and it is a delight to be in the final.”

Batting first, Palakkad posted a challenging 163 for 4 through Mohammad Bilal’s unbeaten 47 off just 26 balls with four boundaries and two sixes, well backed up by Mohammad Iqbal’s 40 off 29 balls with seven boundaries.
Though the total was not good enough, Palakkad struck early blows to restrain Kochi’s run flow. Manjula Asanka and Kaushlya Weeraratne took two wickets each to restrict Kochi to 128 for nine.

Thissur’s victory was mainly due to a fine spell of bowling from the experienced former Goa Ranji Trophy player Avadoot Amonkar, who bagged three vital wickets for 24 runs, while Shaizad Manna and Wasim Bari took two wickets each. The match culminated in an exciting finish, with at one stage Alleppey needing just 10 runs from eight balls.

The final will be held at 2.30pm on Saturday.